Skip to content

mama love

May 5, 2011

i have been in sort of a funk ever since the evil cold set in. i am feeling better now, and the girls are on the mend. but it most certainly did something to the momentum that i had going there for a while. and right now i am just having a hard time getting back in the groove of anything. usually when i get like this i can just go into my studio and unwind. every video i try to work on is blah. blog posts are stuck. even art journaling seems to be eluding me. does that ever happen to you? i am sure i just need a little r & r. but it is the worst when you feel like you have to force something. so i am going to just chill a little until i get my mojo back.

on another note, it’s mother’s day weekend and kind over matter is doing an art and photo share today. the theme is mama love, so appropriate. so i thought it would be perfect to share some love for my mama today. my mom is really the reason i am so artistic. she is an artist herself and i grew up watching her sew, paint and craft. so i guess you could say that if it wasn’t for her, i would not be the artist that i am. i really could share any of my art and say that it was inspired by her. but i especially think that my pieces using stitching are so “her” because i grew up falling asleep to the sound of the sewing machine every night. i think that is one of the reasons that sewing is so therapeutic to me. of course, i only use my sewing machine for art and hardly ever for anything practical. thanks mom for being so much of my inspiration. i love you!

mixed media painting

mixed media painting

blessed mixed media painting

Kind Over Mater Collective

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 1:43 pm

    Aw. So sweet!! Moms really are special, aren’t they?!? How lucky that you two are so close. Happy early Mother’s Day!

  2. May 5, 2011 1:49 pm

    So pretty!!! Oh, I love this & I can relate so much as my mom passed on her creative genes to me too. I love that you used to fall asleep to the sewing machine, for some reason, that makes my heart swell. It makes me think of both my grandmothers as they used to sew all the time 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing this in the Kind Collective. I’m really excited about the feature, to be able to share & see more around the community.

    Big Love,
    Amanda

  3. May 5, 2011 2:31 pm

    Okay, so this is my first comment here. I have been following your blog for months now and so I am finally commenting.

    I truly love all your art! I especially love your “blessed” piece. It is beautiful and so colorful! Love it!

    I also loved hearing your story about falling asleep to the sound of the sewing machine. Definitely a special memory and nice to know how inspiring your mom is to you. I am sure that you are becoming an inspiration to your daughters just like your mom is to you.

    Have a great Mother’s Day!

  4. May 5, 2011 6:55 pm

    so pretty
    Please stop by and say hi.
    xoxo
    bB

    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  5. ann dickey permalink
    May 5, 2011 7:04 pm

    i truly love your blog an ALL of your art!
    have patience… slumps happen~ especially when you are worn out. there is an ebb and flow to all that is natural… and YOUR art is just that… a natural expression of spirit. this funk will pass… don’t force it.
    my mom died 3 years ago (another seamstress!), so i make it a habit to honor an inspirational woman on Mother’s Day. this year i choose to honor YOU!! thanks for sharing your gifts so openly…

    • May 6, 2011 12:19 pm

      thanks ann! i so appreciate all of your support. can’t wait until we can get together and play. 😉

  6. May 6, 2011 10:36 pm

    These are all so beautiful! You are a wonderful artist :]
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

