Skip to content

there is no indian giving in art

April 19, 2011

mixed media painting

the life of an artist is simple. create. release your creation into the world.

the creating is the easy part. it’s the releasing that gets hard. yes there are those amazing days when you release your creation out into the universe and other people receive it and marvel over it. it returns to you and you find your heart full because the very thing that you created has accomplished some purpose. maybe it made someone’s day brighter. maybe it touched someone in a very deep way.

yes those are the glorious days when your heart soars high and you feel like nothing can touch it.

but for every one of those days, there are many others where you release your creation into the world and nothing happens. you wait holding your breath. in the quiet of those moments, you think that maybe, just maybe i shouldn’t have shared that part of myself for everyone to see. you feel vulnerable. raw. exposed.

second guesses come. there is only one problem. once you release it, there is no taking  it back. there is no indian giving in art. once it has left your hands, you can’t take it back no matter how hard you try. it’s like grasping at the wind.

at that point, it’s really easy to start not releasing your art. or at least hold some things back. because it really is letting part of your heart go when you release what you created into the world.

and i think that this where so many artists get stuck. hurt. disillusioned. and broken.

and i think that i would be lying if i didn’t struggle with these second guesses to some extent. i think all artists do.

but i think that you have to finally come to the place where it is no longer about you or your art. it’s about giving your beauty to others. whether anyone chooses to receive it. whether no one ever acknowledges it’s loveliness. it’s an unconditional gift waiting to be opened. and you have to give it with your whole heart.

i am learning to let go. to truly release my art into the world. no strings attached. and it feels freeing. because i know that i have done my part.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 10:30 am

    That is really great Wendy. I agree with you. It so easy to get hung up on someone getting “it” or not but I think we know that really we HAVE to make our art, NO MATTER WHAT comes of it. Very thoughtful post!
    xo

  2. April 19, 2011 6:10 pm

    beautiful words Wendy. so true.

  3. April 19, 2011 6:12 pm

    I deeply admire your wisdom and the ability to frame your words into something so meaningful. It was just the lesson I needed to learn. As the saying goes, “be a student and the teacher will appear”. Thanks for sharing!

  4. April 19, 2011 7:29 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. I once heard an artist describe each of her finished pieces as being her “children”…children she’s conceived, carried, birthed, and raised. I think I feel the same way about my artwork; there’s a sense of responsibility that comes with molding and nurturing and investing physical and emotional energy to create something from nothing. And yes, I also take it personally if others don’t seem to value the end product as much as I do. I’ve embarked on a journey of “letting go” recently, as I’ve begun posting my work online for the first time, as well as submitting work for publication…and it’s hard for me, because I feel like if the art that comes from inside of me is rejected, I’m also being rejected. We all have work to do in this area, I think…and your post offers some excellent food for thought!

  5. April 19, 2011 11:17 pm

    I feel you here! You are not alone …on this subject.
    Thank you for sharing what is in your heart, your truth is valued.

  6. April 20, 2011 4:26 pm

    I just found your blog and loved visiting with you. Filled with so much truth and beauty. So glad I found you. I look forward to visiting again soon.
    xoxo
    Eydie

Leave a Reply

