Skip to content

goal setting

April 4, 2011

mixed media collage

happy monday all! i hope you had a lovely weekend. saturday was a gorgeous 70 degrees and my husband took the girls to the park. sunday, it was snowing. typical spring in colorado. the snow is actually good because we need the moisture. i am thinking of planting my very first vegetable garden this year even though i have no idea what i am doing. colorado gardens are finicky so i am crossing my fingers.

feeling a little bit frustrated this week. i spent a ton of time recording video for my e-course last week and now i can’t get any of the videos off my phone. hopefully my geek of a husband can get it worked out. otherwise, looks like i will just have to start over on those videos.

goal setting has been on my mind a lot lately. i have been amazed at how simply making a goal can actually open doors for it to happen. it is strange actually. in fact, i have had several goals come true without doing the work to get there. don’t get me wrong, i think it is important to have a plan to accomplish your goals. but sometimes, things just happen without any planning whatsoever.

with that being said, i thought it was time to set some bigger and loftier goals. i have somewhat outgrown the ones from last year. good problem to have i suppose. it is time to set my goals even higher. so here goes:

goal # 1- get my art licensed. this goal seems totally crazy to me. i have no idea how to make it happen either. i guess this is a somewhat controversial thing for many artists. but i think it would be awesome and i would love to not be in charge of the production side of products.

goal # 2- hire my own assistant to do all of the things i don’t want to do, packing, organizing (that sort of thing). wouldn’t that be awesome? this is definitely a ways down the road, but hey a girl can dream.

goal # 3- attend one of those large national art shows (like CHA)  and actually have some of my art in a booth.

goal # 4- get paid to do what i love best, creating. i know this one sounds a little obvious, but it is true.

goal # 5- write a book about my story and how art has become my therapy after suffering from a brain injury.

goal # 6- meet some of my favorite artists in real life. i had a dream that i met kelly rae roberts and it was a great dream.

goal # 7- get my art published on one of my favorite design blogs, decor8 or design sponge.

so there you go. some of my lofty business goals. just putting them out there. because you never know what will happen.

on another note, one of my readers april has created an altered cardboard page. you can check it out here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. joanne permalink
    April 4, 2011 2:06 pm

    It is good to have goals.It keeps your mind focused on what you want.I would love a veggie patch too,nothing big just enough for a few things.Maybe that could be one of my goals.

  2. April 4, 2011 4:50 pm

    Thanks again for sharing your insights on your blog, as well as reaching out to me personally! I know that sometimes God may seem to be keeping his silence…but you know what? He also speaks through people sometimes, and I also believe He places people in our paths that can enable us to see His will. You are endlessly inspiring, and I’m so impressed by the strength and perseverence you employ to reach your goals! You can count on my support and prayers every step of the way!

  3. April 4, 2011 8:50 pm

    Great goals!
    Love it… plan with a goal, always works well :]

  4. April 5, 2011 10:39 am

    Lovely goals Wendy

Leave a Reply

