Skip to content

a lovely surprise

March 28, 2011
colorado springs artist guild

please excuse the cheesy look on my face

 

i am feeling at a loss today. i had this wonderful post planned for today. i was going to share with you an exciting event from this weekend, which i will still do. but if it wasn’t for my mom, i wouldn’t have a picture to share with you. you see, yesterday my iphone 4 met a bowl of water. it was one of those moments that happened in slow motion and you knew it was coming but couldn’t stop it. disaster! so i am now a blogger without a camera. i feel so lost. my phone is resting all snug in a bowl of rice right now. hopefully that will do the trick because i can’t imagine being without a camera. please rice do the trick.

now that i got that out of the way, i can share my exciting news. so a few weeks ago i entered one of my paintings in the colorado springs artist guild art show. there were 93 entries. they give out several awards, first, second and third, as well as honorable mentions. i honestly was not expecting to win anything in the show at all. you see, my mom is one of people who helped to hang all of the paintings and she was there when the judge was making her choices. my mom told me i didn’t get any awards and i was fine with that.

well, friday night was the reception for the show. i was excited just to go and meet other artists. so much fun!!! i went to the reception with my husband and mom. and when i got there i walked right past my painting. i didn’t even see it. talk about comical. so when i finally found my painting i noticed a small ribbon hung right below the painting. it said director’s award. say what? i didn’t even know that there was a director’s award. i was totally floored with excitement. i didn’t know that the director of the show was even allowed to choose an award. and it turns out my husband and mom knew for about a week leading up to the reception.

and one of the coolest parts of the whole evening is that cindy the director wants to do a big show with all of my paintings. i would be one of two artists being featured. isn’t that amazing? i have entered paintings in lots of different shows, but this would feel so much more “official”.

i am feeling so grateful and honored today. i am just going to soak it up for a bit. and pray for those little grains of rice to soak up all of the water in my phone at the same time.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 8:32 am

    OMG, that is AMAZING!!! Wow, I’m so floored and so so excited for you! When will the show be? How many pieces do you need? What are you going to wear?

    I had to throw that one in, I couldn’t help it. 🙂

  2. March 28, 2011 8:38 am

    Congratulations!!! How awesome! And I love the painting!

  3. March 28, 2011 8:53 am

    DON’t despair about your phone – my sis washed hers giving it a FULL 1 hour cycle in the washing machine! Google how to take it apart! My friend did this for my sis – he took it all part dried the wet bits, used an eraser on the contacts to dry them and remove the wet sheen, screwed it all back together and YEAH it works! She did have a faint cloudiness to her screen but that has gone after 2 weeks. Oh and congrats on the picture.

  4. March 28, 2011 10:25 am

    Awesome! Congrats!:-)

  5. March 28, 2011 12:01 pm

    That’s amazing! Except for the phone part. I was going to tell you about the bowl of rice trick (I just read about that somewhere) and I hope it works for you!

  6. joanne permalink
    March 28, 2011 2:19 pm

    That is fantastic news.Congratulations!!!As soon as I saw your painting I just fell in love with it.Those colours are just me all over.

  7. March 28, 2011 5:35 pm

    That painting is fabulous, and so is the news about your prize and your exhibition. I wish I could come along.

    Hope your phone does sort itself out. I don’t want to miss out on seeing pictures of your amazing work.

  8. March 28, 2011 9:51 pm

    Congratulations… I am so happy for you! :]
    Your painting is beautiful. Love your use of colors and design.
    Thumbs up!!!

  9. March 29, 2011 11:12 am

    Wow – that is awesome news! The award – not the phone – and congrats to you! I am so happy for you that she is giving you a show!!!
    Yay!
    ~Kelly

  10. March 29, 2011 11:32 am

    Congratulations- what an honor!! Soak it up!!

  11. March 29, 2011 12:34 pm

    HOORAY for YOU!!! That’s so exciting!! I love that they kept it a secret!!!

    fingers crossed for your phone!

Leave a Reply

