Skip to content

i let my daughter paint!?!

March 16, 2011

say what? first of all, most of you are confused. i am continually posting about my little artist in training, my daughter who paints nearly every day. and she is my little picasso. she even tells other people that her profession is an artist. how cute is that?

well, i happen to have two daughters. one who paints and one who eats paint. yes, it’s true. i have called poison control twice now. once for the india ink that she drank and decorated my carpet with. twice for the watercolor tube she chewed like a beaver.

it’s ok. i can laugh about it now. but i keep my studio locked at all times.

i am sure that it is understandable that i have limited her exposure to paint. this is the child who as soon as she gets a marker colors all over herself and anything else in reach.

so yesterday i had an unusual opportunity. when i walked into the room i found this same wild child playing with the paints that my other daughter had left sitting out.

at that very moment, something changed in me. i knew that if i let her paint it would be a mess. but i also realized that it was completely unfair to keep her so controlled at all times. so i let her paint!!! and it was wonderful. of course, it was HIGHLY supervised. but i loved watching her sense of accomplishment. the light in her eyes was totally worth it.

the truth is that i would have missed that beautiful moment if i hadn’t been looking for it. missed it all together and gotten caught up with the business that is dinner time. i wouldn’t trade that moment for anything. it was a gift. a gift worth counting.

you see. i am in the process of counting my gifts. not gifts that i want, but gifts that i have. it is a lesson in gratitude. and i am finding that the more i give thanks to god for the blessings in my life, the more joy i experience.

twenty… letting my spitfire daughter paint.

twenty one… art journaling on cardboard. so much texture. so much fun. (don’t worry i will be sharing tomorrow)

twenty two… spending the entire day in my studio on sunday.

twenty three… creating my own recipe for chicken tortilla soup that rocks. gluten free. dairy free. and absolutely delish!

twenty four… this well constructed home for ants and a child’s imagination.

one thousand gifts

home for ants

twenty five… decaf soy latte from starbucks. complete splurge for me (i don’t drink coffee for health reasons).

twenty six… a husband who picks up necessities at the store for me.

twenty seven… wearing mom’s shoes. too cute!

one thousand gifts

mom's shoes

twenty eight… snuggles first thing in the morning.

twenty nine… stitching on paper and fabric. makes me oh so happy!

want to know more about why i am counting one thousand gifts? you can read the original post here.

note: i used a texture from kim classen on the pictures. you can get the one i used here.

post inspired by the book one thousand gifts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 9:12 am

    I love this, friend, I absolutely love this.

  2. March 16, 2011 9:56 am

    very sweet Wendy.

  3. joanne permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:01 pm

    You actually have two little artists there.The younger one just needs to really feel the texture in her mouth.She will be one of those artists that needs to roll in the paint and really feel it.Just make sure you have a hose on hand.Ha ha.

    • March 16, 2011 1:11 pm

      you completely made me laugh today joanne! lol! i can totally see her rolling around in the paint! i just need to buy her some edible paint right!?!

  4. joanne permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:02 pm

    Oh I forgot to tell you I have ordered the book “One Thousand Gifts”. Can’t wait.

  5. March 16, 2011 2:10 pm

    Can’t wait to see the art journaling on cardboard. I love stitching on paper too. Loved reading your gifts!

Leave a Reply

