Skip to content

you never know…

February 9, 2011

altered book

who might be reading your blog! at the beginning of this year i posted my goals for the year. it was a simple post. i didn’t even mention all of my grandiose and impossible goals, taking over the world type stuff. and i didn’t even spend very much time on that post as i remember. but one of those goals included becoming a published artist in one of my favorite magazines.

guess who read that post?

wait for it

one of those two major magazines.

yes.

seriously.

i never even imagined that my little blog would get noticed by said magazine. not in a million years. not in my wildest dreams.

but it turns out that wild and crazy dreams DO come true. surprising to little ole me who started on a creative business venture nearly a year ago. by the way, i kind of missed my blogaversary on february 1. i guess that kind of goes to show i have been a little distracted lately.

this said magazine read my blog as well as my about page. they read MY story. and the editor who read it was moved. moved to action.

just goes to show that having a kick ass about page is important. something i learned from tara gentile.

welcome a moment of restoration.

every time one person is touched by my story it makes everything that i have ever gone through worthwhile. you will never see the hours i have spent in tears of anguish and despair. the years when i thought i would never be normal again. and i don’t expect you to see those things.

but… telling my story brings healing. having other people acknowledge my struggle is validation that what i went through was worth it. it was gut wrenching hard, impossible, and downright hell. but if i can reach one other person with my story, then i can start to make sense of the why this happened to me.

this is the power of story!

i haven’t ever shared this before on my blog. but i never saw justice for my car accident. we went to trial against the evil insurance company and they annihilated us. it was part of the trauma that i walked through. to seek justice and not find it was probably one of the hardest things i have ever gone through. ever. it was like being a victim all over again.

but…

i made a decision to not be defined as a victim anymore. and i started digging deep into my passions. i began pursuing my dreams. and every day i take one step closer to accomplishing my dreams.

so every time someone is touched by my story it feels like a little piece of justice is handed back to me. it feels like a little piece that was stolen from me is restored.

it feels like a little piece of redemption.

going back to that editor who was moved to action. well, it has led to my story being published. and soon. goal accomplished and it was all by simply telling my story.

so whoever you are, if you are listening, another one of my goals is to write a book about my brain injury and art therapy. there. i put it out there because you never know who might be reading your blog.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 8:37 am

    WOWOWOWOW!

    Beyond fabulous. Congratulations to you & your dreams, Wendy! Thank you for this great post and for sharing THIS story among so many others 🙂

    • February 9, 2011 8:51 am

      thanks so much for your support! it means a lot to me. i did learn so much from your class about writing and telling my story. it is so exciting to see what is coming out of just telling my story.

  2. February 9, 2011 9:11 am

    I’m so glad you shared this post, as I met you through Flying Lessons (yay) and enjoyed your posts and art so much. I will admit I haven’t read many “about” pages and didn’t know any of your story, just instantly connected with you and so many in our group with a childlike trust and adoration. Your post draws me in (with my well hidden broken wing) and wanting to know more so I can maybe follow those bread crumbs back to a life as BIG as I once believed in…I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for your next post, or a book – and will thank you for every word – what a BRAVE girl and her brush can do!! WOW.

    • February 9, 2011 10:00 am

      thank you so much for your lovely words linda! it really is amazing to see the power in telling our stories. thanks for the support and i can’t wait to hear more about your story and those broken wings.

  3. February 9, 2011 10:43 am

    Congratulations, Wendy!!! That is amazing 🙂

  4. February 9, 2011 1:26 pm

    ROCK on, friend!! This is so amazingly awesome!

  5. joanne permalink
    February 9, 2011 2:40 pm

    It’s amazing what one person,one baby step at a time can do.Congratulations.

  6. February 9, 2011 3:14 pm

    That is so incredibly cool for you! Congratulations! And you are SO RIGHT — you never know who’s reading your blog. I talked about wanting to write a book and a publisher contacted me, and now I have a contract. That’s why I say blogs should be from the heart, yes, but remember you never know who is reading, and the internet, she’s forever!

    So very, very happy for you, and I just love your creations!

    • February 10, 2011 12:16 pm

      thanks lori and congrats on the book deal. that is amazing. i am thinking about writing a book proposal this year. we will see!

  7. February 10, 2011 4:35 am

    I’m so thrilled for you – how exciting. I admire your struggles to come to terms with it all and your therapy is working. Its also nice to know that when you post to the cyber community people really do read your blogs. You’ve opened the door so walk on through and you never know what door will open next. Good luck.

  8. February 11, 2011 9:26 am

    OH WOW wendy!!! Congratulations to you and your dreams!! I am sooo soo HAPPY for you! This is really awesome. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your stories! Love to you!

    • February 12, 2011 8:31 am

      jacqueline, thank you for all of the kind words and for celebrating with me. i am glad you had a good holiday!

Trackbacks

  1. mission accomplished « a girl and her brush
  2. published! « a girl and her brush
  3. how i found out « a girl and her brush
  4. dear fellow flyers, « a girl and her brush
  5. dreams for 2012 « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

