Skip to content

thoughts on becoming more me

January 14, 2011

there are some days when i can’t believe that i have only been painting mixed media for a little over a year. seriously, it feels like forever. already i can feel my work shifting. with every new piece i am branching out into something else. i suppose it might always feel like this. like i am always reaching and growing and spreading out into new areas where i can breathe better. i love it! my painting is becoming more messy and free and rather abstract. i am in love with patterns right now and layers upon layers of color and play. i really had a blast painting this large canvas this week. i keep staring at it. i love the movement. as my paintings change, i feel like i am becoming more me as an artist. not so cute (not that i don’t like cute), and a little more edgy.

note: the colors aren’t exactly right in the pictures. the orange is really more orange and not so red.

mixed media collage painting

mixed media collage

mixed media collage

mixed media collage

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 8:47 am

    I love the freedom in your work, seeing the explosions of color, and of course patterns! It’s really awesome to watch!

  2. January 14, 2011 9:31 am

    Hooray for you! Your work is gorgeous. I’ve been working on finding myself as well. It’s amazing what you can tap into when you start getting comfortable with who you really are.

  3. January 14, 2011 10:23 am

    wendy,
    i love this piece! great color lady. and i am embracing messy over here. too bad we don’t live closer. would be fun to get together to play.
    xo

  4. January 14, 2011 10:26 am

    Great work…I love what you’ve done and it’s inspiring to hear you acknowledge branching out with each piece. The more we do, the more in touch we become…I need to keep telling myself this and just keep working (I’m soooooooo slow or distractable…can’t decide which). The painting is captivating and beautiful!
    Warm Regards,
    Denise

  5. joanne permalink
    January 14, 2011 3:52 pm

    Oh Wendy it is so beautiful.I would love to do an online class with you soon,hint,hint.Your colours and textures are amazing!Yummy eye candy.Joanne

    • January 14, 2011 5:28 pm

      you are so sweet joanne! i am working on it and it’s going to be soooo good. i am doing a ton of videos, it might even be better than taking a class with me in person because it will be much more detailed!

      • joanne permalink
        January 14, 2011 7:17 pm

        Can’t wait.

  6. Lisa permalink
    January 20, 2011 11:13 am

    I don’t know if I’ve ever commented on your blog before, or if I just lurked in the past…anyway, I had to let you know that my jaw DROPPED when I saw this painting.

    Absolutely stunning.

    • January 20, 2011 12:55 pm

      lisa, i am so happy that you decided to comment. i so do appreciate your kind words! thank-you!

Leave a Reply

