Skip to content

a day for myself

January 13, 2011

good morning friends! i am truly starting off this new year taking better care of myself. i spent the morning yesterday with a dear friend on a play date. it was so lovely to take some time to connect and also to get the girls out of the house. when i get in super business mode, my girls get totally restless. so it was just as much for them as it was for me. and it felt so nice to share my struggles and triumphs with a friend who i can just be myself with.

i have also been detoxing trying to my body back into order after splurging a little too much over the holidays. i am eating just veggies with a whole bunch of protein. i am realizing more and more that doing something for myself includes eating healing foods. but the one thing about detoxing is that it makes me completely exhausted. so i have seriously been resting a ton. i even took a nap yesterday and it felt amazing!

i just wanted to share something that my little artist in training painted yesterday. it is so much fun watching her explore. i LOVE it! by the time she gets to be my age, she will be an amazing artist. here is her painting of blueberries and raspberries. and you really aren’t an artist until you get paint all over your hands. so i had to grab this pic as well.

paint on hands

watercolor painting by a child

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 2:24 pm

    I love this SO MUCH. Little hands covered in paint makes me so happy!

  2. Erin K permalink
    January 13, 2011 6:16 pm

    Watching my son create is awesome…but he would totally FREAK if his hands where messy like that! lol He has not been able to stand having messy hands…EVER! Finger painting is NOT an option.

    • January 14, 2011 5:39 pm

      erin, that is the funny thing. my daughter usually HATES getting anything on her hands too. she eats all of her food with a fork. i don’t know why it didn’t bother her though, maybe because she sees me having paint on my hands ALL the time.

  3. joanne permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:50 am

    When my kids were young I would frame alot of their art work.I love to see children with their art.Keep up the great work little one.

    • January 14, 2011 5:38 pm

      my daughter paints every day so i have a lot to choose from for framing i guess. i just got a bulletin board to start putting her artwork on.

  4. January 14, 2011 10:25 am

    so cute. she is an amazing artist already! i get so inspired by my kids and how fearless they are. it is great.

Leave a Reply

