Skip to content

word for the year

January 11, 2011

mixed media collage

first of all, let me just say that i so appreciate all of the love that i received yesterday on my fears post. thank you so much. let me also just add that, despite having little fears of the unknown, i am above all thrilled and excited for this new chapter in my life. the excitement and gratefulness far outweighs any fears that i do have. and it is a joy more than anything to be going to the next level in my business. but thanks again for the support.

over christmas break i did a lot of resting, dreaming and soul searching. i thought a lot about my business and my family. it was really wonderful. and i thought so much about this year and what it would hold for me. last year was amazing to see the beginnings of a girl and her brush and i am so grateful for all that was accomplished. i am honestly amazed at everything that my art has brought to my life. and it was all so fresh and new that i felt like i was on a roller coaster at times.

so when i sat down to decide what i wanted this year to look like, the one word that came to me was healing. it has been nearly seven years since my car accident. and there have been some really low points along the way, my broken brain, depression, chronic pain, financial problems, and food health issues. when you live in a place of high stress for so long, it starts to take a toll on your body and mind. i believe that god has really begun the healing process in my life, but i feel like this year the healing process is going to be complete. not that everything will be perfect, but i know that this year is going to filled with healing for me. my art has become such a place of healing for me, and i believe that it will continue into this new year.

i have been struggling with some health issues a lot in the last few years, but really feel like i finally have a plan of attack to take care of these things. this plan includes taking better care of myself, nourishing my body with healthy foods, taking more time for myself, painting more, getting rid of stress, playing more, forgiving myself and just flat out resting.

along these same lines, i really do want my business to be more focused this year. i want to be purposed in every thing i do so that i can allow myself to heal more. instead of having many things going at once, i want to choose one thing and do it really well. i want to give myself more grace this year and not place so many expectations on myself.

yes indeed, this year is all about healing for me. what does this year hold for you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 10:38 am

    I totally understand where you are coming from! I am also on a mission to take better care of myself! We can do it! Hugs!

  2. Erin K permalink
    January 11, 2011 8:09 pm

    I am hoping to CREATE more this year. Not just in scrapbooking, art and photography but also create a budget, a menu plan and a healthier lifestyle!

  3. January 12, 2011 2:21 am

    Dearest sweet wendy, i am loving this post and i could really relate to “struggling with some health issues a lot in the last few years”. I am also looking to take better care of myself this year and to create more. Have a lovely merry happy week and love to you!

Trackbacks

  1. dreams for 2012 « a girl and her brush
  2. word for 2012 « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

