Skip to content

artist in training

December 2, 2010

good morning friends! just stopping by for a breather in the midst of locking myself in my studio. i am working hard on videos for my e-course. i am super motivated to get all of my videos finished for the class. when i am not taping videos, i am editing them. they are going to be awesome!

anyways i thought i would share a lovely painting with you today. and no it is not mine. my four year old daughter paints every day. i guess she takes after her mom and nana (grandma). i love encouraging her to be creative. so last week when she had covered her entire wall with stickers, i had an idea. i felt bad that she couldn’t leave the stickers up (i didn’t want to damage the walls). she was only trying to express herself creatively and i didn’t want to discourage that. so i thought of a way to let her decorate her room herself. i gave her one of my canvases and some of my paints and let her go to town. i actually really like it. who knows? maybe there will be some collaboration in the future.

it really does amaze me how creative she is, my little artist in training. in fact, it seems like children just ooze creativity. it is what they know. and we are the ones to either encourage or discourage it. i had the opportunity to completely dismiss her creativity when she was putting stickers all over the wall. but instead, i thought of a way to encourage her creativity without leaving the stickers on the wall. you should see how proud she is of the painting on her wall. every visitor we have over she proudly shows her grown up canvas. i love it!

i can’t wait to see what she keeps creating.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 10:28 am

    What a great mom you are to encourage here. I really love the painting Wendy. That is so great when the kids want to be like their mom. My son has done this and he asks alot to do canvas paintings. I read somewhere about having an art show at your home for the kids. invite friends and family to come and purchase pieces. I think that is a wonderful idea. And wow, you are creating an e-course? That is fantastic! Can’t wait to hear more.
    xo

  2. December 2, 2010 12:16 pm

    So wonderful that you encourge your child’s creativity! Good for you!!!!

  3. December 2, 2010 1:24 pm

    You little girl is lucky to have you encouraging her! ☺

  4. December 2, 2010 1:47 pm

    Kids are fabulously creative. My niece is just like your daughter – she loves to express herself through paints and stickers and drawings. She’s already asked me to show her how to make jewelry – I love that!

    I think her painting is awesome – maybe Santa can get her a sketchbook for Christmas?

  5. December 2, 2010 5:02 pm

    what a wonderful artist! i just adore the colors she used! and how lucky she is to have you inspiring her too!

    best wishes, juliette

Leave a Reply

