Skip to content

painted handbag, take one

November 29, 2010

painted handbag

week 38 of 52 weeks; learn something new. and that is exactly what i did this week. i have been wanting to learn how to make a handbag for a while now. it has been on my list. you know that list? all the creative things you want to do but never get around to. but somehow the muse struck and i listened. i started with a piece of fabric. then i painted my heart out. i really have been exploring a lot by painting on fabric lately. (i will have to share some other projects later).

so i took my fabric to my mother’s house. my mother is the expert when it comes to sewing, so i knew she would be able to help me. we looked at some free patterns online until we found one that we liked. then we went to town sewing and pinning and creating. and here is the end product…

painted handbag

painting fabric

painting fabric

painting fabric

painting fabric

so for my very first handbag, i am super happy. i feel like i have so much left to learn and i am not sure that i could do it again without the help of my mom. but i did order this book by amy butler this week. hopefully, i will get some more ideas for some fun handbags. i really love experimenting with fabric and paint. the possibilities are endless really. and i love the idea of my art being on something as useful as a handbag. what about you? is there something new you have learned recently?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 10:08 am

    Woah, very impressive! Sewing is not easy in my book so kudos to you for branching out into scary territory!
    🙂

  2. November 29, 2010 4:10 pm

    Super lovely, friend! Way to really embrace learning something new. I’ve always wanted to learn sewing, and just never found the motivation. Is it hard?

    • November 29, 2010 4:18 pm

      honestly, i don’t think sewing is that difficult. the sewing part it easy, but the following a pattern and figuring everything out is more difficult for me. but i say all that with the disclaimer that i have my mom. so any problem that i run into, i can ask her about it. i think that maybe if you took a class, it wouldn’t be that tough to learn.

  3. joanne permalink
    November 30, 2010 3:48 am

    You are so creative.I just love it.

  4. November 30, 2010 6:17 am

    Dearest sweet wendy, this bag is awesome!! I really truly adore it! You are soo talented sweet friend! Have a lovely merry happy week and love to you!

  5. December 1, 2010 11:00 am

    Lovely work! I still have not had the courage to try something like this. I am a newbie when it comes to mixing paint and fabric. I am stuck in the mindset of keeping everything separate.

Leave a Reply

