Skip to content

balancing my creative life

November 15, 2010

tea

photo credit

week 36 of 52 weeks; a recent challenge. morning friends! sorry i was mia on friday. my biggest challenge lately has been balancing life with business. i have been listening to my heart and that feels so good. if i start feeling out of place or stressed, i stop and take a breather. friday morning was lovely. i simply sat with my tea and let my mind wander. i thought about all of the things i want to do to decorate my house. oh, that i had a decorating budget, there are so many things i would LOVE to do. anyways, it was just lovely to sit and dream. i needed that. i needed a moment with myself to just be. and it felt good to think about something non art related. sometimes we need to shift gears or we start to go crazy.

i have so many things i am working on, as well as creative ideas swimming inside my head. there are days when i feel like i will never get to all of them. and that can be super frustrating at times. but i have also found that if i don’t take time for myself, i won’t be able to do anything. i am also finding that if i take an hour or two to just play in my studio, then i leave feeling super refreshed. and when i do work, i feel like i am being so much more productive too.

on another note, saturday was my last class. so i should have more time to focus on other things now. it was a super fun class. and i am a little sad that it was our last week. but i do have a feeling that my students will be taking another class. i have grown so much as an artist teaching this class. nothing makes you an expert on something better than actually having to teach it to someone else. it has been interesting because if i don’t know how to do a certain technique, i do all the research, practice it myself and then teach it to my class. i feel like i learned so much teaching this class just because of all the research that goes into it. and i love the fact that i am always learning. it does feel good to have this class finished. now, it’s time to start putting all of my content into an online format. wahoo!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 12:07 pm

    I’m so glad that you got to take a little break and renew your spirit. I really need to take a break I think…I’m finding it so hard to find the balance between motherhood, blogging & etsy. Glad you are well.

  2. November 15, 2010 12:56 pm

    I’m so ready for Christmas break. I’ve been trying to take a day off every week, a day where I can just relax… and I end up working on something. Glad to hear you’re going to do your class in a digital format – can’t wait to hear more!

Leave a Reply

