Skip to content

creativity meets safety pins

November 1, 2010

 

week 34 of 52 weeks; family. i became my mother yesterday. growing up she was always making our costumes or using whatever we had in the house. yesterday, my opinionated four year old surprised me by telling me that she did not want to be a princess like we had planned. and if you know my daughter, that is extremely surprising. she eats, breathes and sleeps princesses. instead, she wanted to be the blue water fairy from tinker bell with pink wings of course. what to do? i had one hour until trick or treating to prepare. fortunately, i already had the wings. that is when innovation kicked in and i turned into my mother.

so i took one of my blue shirts that tied in the the waist as a make shift fairy dress. it was the only thing blue i could find. i tied the sleeves up with ribbons, added a blue tutu we had, pinned some yellow fabric by her neck and boom, we had an instant blue water fairy. lesson: you can do a lot with a little creativity and lots of safety pins! i love being creative and i am so thankful that my mother instilled that in me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 12:18 pm

    Okay, I love this! Talk about genius!

  2. November 1, 2010 12:21 pm

    I love her costume. That’s how my mother “made” my costumes. That’s what I thought Halloween was!

  3. November 1, 2010 1:09 pm

    It turned out so well! I’d be in trouble…I’m not that creative. Hope you had a great Halloween. ♥

Leave a Reply

