Skip to content

playing hooky

October 27, 2010

playing hooky

photo credit

i was always the goody goody in high school. never played hooky, except for senior skip day. ok, i guess it doesn’t count when you have parental permission. my girlfriends and i went skiing in the mountains. it was a fabulous day. anyways, i digress. tara from scoutie girl shared a post on playing hooky today. you mean the hard working tara plays hooky? i guess we all need those days. and recently i have needed more days of playing hooky. ever since i started teaching classes on saturday, i find that i need a day off or two during the week just so i don’t go crazy.

i am much better at playing hooky these days. i am getting better at listening to my heart. i even have started noticing when i need to get out with a girlfriend BEFORE i have a mental breakdown. trust me, my husband is happy about this one. he usually is the one picking up the pieces or listening to my irrational rants through tears and sobs. let’s face it, running your own creative business it is so easy to become isolated and focused on your business. yes, i am learning my own tendencies and how to prevent these breakdowns.

i loved what tara said at the end of her post:

I am not so proud that I think others will really miss me if I take a few days off. I am not so stressed that I cannot take a real lunch break. I am not so ambitious that I can’t take a break from moving forward to move deeper.

any plans to play hooky this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 1:45 pm

    Today I tried to play hooky and managed until 3pm. I am definitely going to be getting the rest of my day playing hooky before this week ends. If I don’t have down time. I can’t think – I’m just reacting, moving through my days.

    Funny thing – I am in St. John’s, Newfoundland right now. Here playing hooking is called “pippin off”

  2. October 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    I hope your was peaceful 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. happy friday! « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

