Skip to content

inspired by…

October 19, 2010

recently, i have been devouring all things art journals. i watch youtube videos of artists creating art journals. i love looking at other people’s styles and techniques. sometimes i feel like a sponge, absorbing everything mixed media. i feel so full that there isn’t enough time in the day to do all of the ideas swimming around in my head. today i wanted to share two artists that i have discovered in the midst of my wanderings. if you are looking for inspiration, these women will inspire you.

first is samantha kira, otherwise known as journal girl. what i love about samantha is her willingness to share her process with everyone. she is continually doing videos where she shares her techniques and the supplies that she has used to create a certain effect. i love the rawness in her work. and if you listen at all to her talk, she is just a real person like you and me. this is what i love about her. in her videos, you feel like you are sitting down to talk with a friend. she has a video chat every tuesday evening and i would love to join in one of these days. here is one of her journal pages. love, love, love it! if you want to know more about journal girl, head on over to her blog.

journal girl

second is julie fei fan balzer. this woman is seriously prolific. and i am a tad bit jealous of her life. she lives in new york city and works for prima as a designer. she gets to demo all of their products and just play all day. how fun would that be? she does a lot of scrapbooking, but has so many other projects on her site. julie is a master of paper. i had a very difficult time choosing a photo to show you her work, because it encompasses so many different mediums. there are just so many amazing things that she does. so i guess you will just have to head over to her website to check her out for yourself.

julie fei fan balzer

so that is who is inspiring me right now. what about you? who inspires you in your trade? please do share with me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 11:44 am

    I totally get you about being a sponge. I constantly feel like I’m just soaking everything in. As for who inspires me, you do! All my artsy friends do, in little ways here and there. It’s always motivating to be around that kind of energy, to take from it and give it back.

  2. October 20, 2010 4:18 pm

    That looks Like some good clicking in that post. I’ll be off to check those artists out when I’m done here. Thanks for the introductions, I hadn’t been aware of either of them.
    I love the idea of art journaling, but have never actually kept one. Of course I keep a sketch book, but that is pretty limited to pencil jewelry sketching. I think loosening that definition might do me some good. Gabriella Kiss is inspiring me in my trade right now.

  3. October 23, 2010 6:14 pm

    I had heard of Julie before but not samantha. thanks for the intro. art journaling is on my long list of things I want to try.

Leave a Reply

