Skip to content

balance

October 14, 2010

balance

photo credit

yesterday i had a case of the blah’s. you know where you sit there and look around and can’t concentrate long enough on anything. even looking at my studio seemed overwhelming. i think the going, going, going started to catch up with me. so i did the best thing to do in that situation. i took the day off. i took my girls outside, i cleaned my kitchen, i took a few moments to just breathe. and today i feel sooooo much better. i am learning to give myself permission to rest and take care of the other important things in my life. i know that if i would have forced it yesterday, i would have only gotten more frustrated.

balance feels difficult at times. but i think i am learning to listen to my heart. when i start getting overwhelmed, i need to step back a minute and see if there is anything else in my life that is being neglected. then i can come back to my creative endeavors refreshed and ready to go.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 12:04 pm

    Atta girl for allowing yourself the break. Even your creative muse needs rest.
    I force myself to not work on my husbands days off (very challenging when running 4 online shops) but I find that taking a break makes me hungry for it when I “go back to work” – something I NEVER craved when working on the corporate world when Sunday nights left me in tears. Now I’m chomping at the bit to get back and my muse thanks me. So don’t apologize for it…you’ll be more creative in the long run.

    😉 Jenn @ GEG

  2. October 14, 2010 3:07 pm

    What a fabulous idea! Learning to take a moment to figure out what the ick-factor is and how to remedy it is a skill to be acquired – to listen to your being. Kudos to you for paying attention to what you need. (Also, as an artist, I totally agree that the creative juiciness flows better when your heart is happy and you are well nourished… y’know… soul-wise.)

    Love,
    Amy

Leave a Reply

