Skip to content

happy today

October 5, 2010

i am feeling happy today and here are a few things that are making me smile.

put on your own puppet show

my daughters are teaching me that all you really need is a box and a whole lot of creativity to have fun. it was my daughter’s idea to transform this box into a puppet show stand. notice how she even decorated the walls with her own pictures. since this picture, the box has also become a car and a house for a family of horses. i LOVE it.

homemade granola

and i am loving this homemade granola i made this week. can you believe that it is almost gone now? i love the look of it in these mason jars. i always plan on making granola to give away for christmas, but it never happens. wouldn’t that make a lovely gift? when you buy the good granola at the store it always costs you an arm and a leg. but you can make your own for so much cheaper. i dream about making vanilla almond, or cranberry orange then making lovely little labels to go on the jars. ok, now i am going to have to do it.

homemade granola

and here are some beautiful pink roses my husband bought me just because. i think that’s the best way to receive flowers, for no reason at all. can you guess where they found their new home?

art studio inspiration

into this lovely corner of my studio. isn’t it lovely?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 10:07 am

    No Reason flowers are the best, in my opinion – totally spontaneous and lovely! They look fab in your studio (which is looking pretty spiffy itself!).

    If your girls get tired of the box, give them a couple blankets and let them build a fort under the table – that was my favorite thing to do growing up!

    And I think handmade granola with pretty labels are a fabulous gift. I think they’d even go great as a hostess gift!

    • October 5, 2010 10:32 am

      thanks girl! i really am loving my studio. i still have a few more things to do, but i really am loving this little corner. and the girls do have fun making forts too. 🙂

  2. October 5, 2010 10:15 am

    yes, it IS lovely! your studio looks like a dream to me. Mine? more like a dungeon.
    sweet flowers from a sweet man, and watching your kids actually play creatively is the best. thing. ever.
    I recently got the best compliment from a woman who observed my girls playing and then said “wow, those kids really know how to PLAY/ You don’t see that too often anymore.” I had never though of it, but yeah, they DO know how to play. Looks like your girls do, too 🙂

    • October 5, 2010 10:27 am

      yeah, there is not very much creative play encouraged anymore. i love my daughter’s imagination. she has more fun making, building and creating than playing with her pre-made toys. i am not sure that i can take complete credit for it either. she is just that way. my youngest learns from her. i love watching them play!

  3. October 5, 2010 2:53 pm

    LOVE the pendants in your work area! love love love! did you make them?

Leave a Reply

