Skip to content

change of perspective

September 28, 2010

mixed media collage

i have a ways to go, so much to learn and do and become… and yet i have accomplished soooo much. i was a little bit disappointed yesterday when i didn’t make the artisan search finals. i felt a little bit humbled and like i have so much left to learn. you know the feeling you get when you compare yourself to other artists. not a great place to be. i found myself thinking that there is so much more to learn as an artist. and yes, while this may be true, i also needed to take a deep breath. my friend brandi reminded of some things yesterday. sometimes, yes it is good to have high and lofty goals, but it is also good to look at all you have accomplished. so instead of feeling defeated, i choose to look at it a different way. yes, i didn’t make artisan search but i have accomplished so much in such a short amount of time.

i started my business in february of this year without knowing very much about mixed media or etsy or blogging or really what it meant to have a creative business. wow! when i look back, what i have accomplished is huge. i am almost about to hit 25 sales in my etsy shop, with nearly 100 items for sale. i am learning new mixed media techniques every day. i am finding my artistic style. i have already taught a six week class on altered books, and i am about to start my second one. i have sold several original paintings. i have taken two e-classes to help build my business. i am working towards becoming published and have taken a risk by putting my art out there and i learned a lot from it! i am very close to getting my art into some shops. i have made some great and amazing new friends and started to build my creative community.

yes sometimes we get so goal oriented that we need a change of perspective. we need to stop and look at all of the things that we have accomplished. thanks brandi for reminding me of that. what change in perspective do you need today?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 9:54 am

    First, I love this piece! Just beautiful!

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t get into artisan search, but yes you’ve accomplished lots and sometimes its easy to lose sight of that. I dream of one day getting into a Somerset Publication, especially Green Craft, so I can understand the strong desire to have your art featured and your work validated.

    I’m in a similar boat, just started my creative business this year and when I read people’s blogs, like KRR, I think, wow – to have that success! But she’s been at it for several years; we’re still newbies!

    And the thought of teaching a class makes me weak in the knees, so kudos to you! I admire all that you’ve done and you inspire me and many others I’m sure.

    🙂 jennifer
    http://www.greenearthgoodies.com

    • September 29, 2010 8:46 am

      thanks jennifer. i truly appreciate it. it does help to keep things in perspective. i noticed you live in colorado too. don’t you love the mountains? thanks for stopping by and leaving such kind comments!

  2. September 28, 2010 11:09 am

    Hey, friend. I know we chatted a little about it, but good for you for changing your perspective. Seriously, I think that’s awesome, and not a small thing. Rejection sucks, but I love the way you’re handling it. Kudos, Wendy, kudos!

  3. September 30, 2010 10:51 am

    so true. And wow! I cannot believe how much you have done in half a year. You are motivated, girl!
    I have realized that I will never stop comparing myself to other artists, I don’t know why, but it just seems like I always will, and while I am proud of all I accomplished, I also think that it is good to look “up” to other artists. To strive toward that mark that they have hit, and to see that success is possible. If someone else has done it, then so can we.

  4. October 12, 2010 9:16 am

    Wendy, I’m so sorry you didn’t make it this time!

    You really are wise though, and it’s great to know that you have an artistic friend who supports you!

    I think that although we need goals to strive for, they never end. Once this is accomplished, another sails up on the horizon. It’s a never ending story. When will we ever really be happy, even assuming that we achieve all we dream of?! I think it helps if we can find peace and a kind of nourishment in life outside of goals. In simple things, like fall leaves or a cup of tea… music… To keep the competitive side of life at bay a little.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

