Skip to content

operation organization

August 9, 2010

week 24 of 52 weeks: organization. this last week i spent a ton of time on the organization of my studio, which is actually, well, just my dining room. i know i am not alone in this. i wonder how many other artists resort to using their dining rooms out of sheer desperation. i bet there are quite a few. well, my supplies have seriously grown since i began my business. i was using this plant shelf before to organize my supplies, but it soon became overflowing. so this last week, my mom and i refinished an old tv hutch. the before was rather boring and uninspiring… but the after is a gorgeous piece of furniture. i love giving new life to a piece of furniture. it makes me happy.

most of my art supplies fit away nicely in my beautiful new piece. the best part is that i can close the doors to my studio and not look at it anymore. i am so happy with the results. i am still working on a few more details so i am not going to share just yet. plus i am kind of playing around with the idea of submitting before and after pictures to a design blog. but here are a few pictures of some spaces that have been inspiring me.

closet craft room

photo credit

closet craft room

photo credit

closet craft room

photo credit

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bizzilizzi permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:12 am

    Yes, I used to use the dining room for my studio and then the button jewelry crept into the family room…We’ve remodeled a big family room across the garage and a section of that is now my studio. Its not finished yet, but getting there, it was so good to be able to sort out boxes of fabric and find what I needed! Its going to be great when its finished. Love the inspirational photos, still thinking about the final finish.

  2. Shannon Conner permalink
    August 9, 2010 11:39 am

    I can’t wait to see Wendy! That is my next project: organizing my office/sewing room. It is the catch all and right now can barely be walked through – daunting, but I can’t wait to see what it becomes!

    • August 9, 2010 3:42 pm

      thanks shannon! i am sure your room will be amazing as you are one of the most organized persons i know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

