Skip to content

7 signs i need to see my brain therapist

July 22, 2010

i seriously need to see my brain therapist. some people need to see their psychologist. some people need to see their psychiatrist. some people need to see their pastor, doctor, dentist, bartender, friend. not me. i need my brain therapist. what does a brain therapist do? not exactly sure. all i know is that when i go to see her, my brain is broken. when i leave, i am fixed. yep. why do i need a brain therapist? well, you can read more about it here. but here are 7 signs i need to see my brain therapist:

1. i call to reschedule an appointment that i never even made. true story.

2. i can’t listen to music and my children at the same time. i have to turn the music off.

3. i stop communicating with my husband and complete chaos follows.

4. the tiniest little thing puts me over the edge and i start crying.

5. i can’t order my thoughts enough to make a to do list.

6. i am easily overwhelmed

7. and the most obvious of all, i loose my depth perception, run into a curb and get a flat tire. yes this is the first time i have had a flat tire, EVER. and yes this happened to me yesterday. and yes i can laugh about it now but was nearly in tears at the time. no i did not remember the lessons my father gave me in high school about how to change a tire. but i am sure i would have never even found the spare in my honda odyssey since it is in a secret compartment in the floor of the car. thank goodness for farmers insurance and fathers that show up to give their daughter moral support when they need it. (we only have one car so my husband was not an option).

and my husband will probably have to call and make the appointment for me since i will not remember to make a simple phone call. this is what i deal with having a brain injury.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 10:57 am

    Oh friend… big hugs! I’m sorry you had such a rough day yesterday. I hope meeting with your therapist will make it better for you.

  2. July 22, 2010 11:00 am

    I had no idea that a brain therapist existed, but since I can identify with 5 of the 7 things on your list I am thinking that I need to find one. Thanks for something think about 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 8:46 am

      i don’t know if brain therapist is a technical term. but i go to a lady who uses something called brain integration therapy and it really does help me a lot.

  3. July 23, 2010 8:24 am

    So sorry you had a hard day. I hope your time with the therapist will be just what you need to feel well again.
    hugs

    • July 23, 2010 8:47 am

      thanks dana! it is just one of those things i have learned to deal with, but i don’t let it get to me too much.

  4. July 23, 2010 6:43 pm

    Ohhhh! So sorry to hear about your day. I wish I could help in some way. I haven’t had a brain injury but, I do have most of the 7 signs. Just being a mom is overwhelming. At least that’s what I think. Just know you’re not alone. Sending big hugs your way…xoxo, Kristi

  5. July 24, 2010 6:54 pm

    uggity ugh. you poor thing. I hope things are better now! I am going to google brain integration therapy…I think I need to ask my therapist about it! I also can relate to nearly the whole list. I always tell my husband my astigmatism is the reason for my craptastic depth perception…maybe there’s more to it!

Trackbacks

  1. mission accomplished « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

