Skip to content

breaking through burnout

July 20, 2010

altered book

this past week i have been experiencing some feelings of burnout. you know the kind where you just want to crawl into a hole and stay there. i have been feeling a tad bit overwhelmed. it can be so easy to get swallowed up by this great big online world. already i am feeling like i just can’t keep up, as my to do list gets longer and longer. there are the submissions for magazines, the preparing for my class, getting ready to wholesale, the new products i am working on, and on and on. not to mention all of the blogs and things to keep up with online. oh my, i feel like pulling my hair out just talking about it.

deep breath.

i am learning that there is a ebb and flow to this creative business and that it is ok to feel overwhelmed. so i took a step back this weekend. i watched hgtv shows and started cleaning my bedroom. have you ever found that a good cleaning and organizing helps to clear your mind? sometimes we need to get rid of the physical clutter in order to get rid of the mental clutter. i felt a lot better after this weekend. cleaning inspired me to start a painting for my bedroom. i am thinking about changing the color scheme. i will share when i am done.

this week i think i am going to focus more on creating. i have several paintings and projects started that need to be finished. and i think i am going to focus on getting ready for my class. and i am going to give myself a whole bunch of grace.

what do you do to deal with burnout?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 7:45 am

    wonderful post. i can relate. just recently i was feeling so overwhelmed that i put my art on backburner and put my house back in order. i felt like my “stuff” was overtaking my life. my husband and i threw out and/or donated about 25 large bags and boxes of stuff. it was a project that took almost 3 weekends but well worth it. i feel so FREE!!!

    oh and btw … HUGE fan of your work. i absolutely love colors and patterns. your art is amazing.

    • July 21, 2010 7:30 am

      i still have a lot left to go through, part of the problem is that i can only do some of it with the help of the husband. i am sure you feel AMAZING!

  2. July 20, 2010 8:05 am

    Taking a break from the creative process always helps me. Actually, I think the break is PART of the creative process. Good for you for figuring it out!

  3. July 20, 2010 9:06 am

    Sometimes you really do just need to take breaks. I decided to take a year off from my creative business for maternity leave, and the freedom that allows me – to just create for myself, instead of for sale – is amazing. When I restart my business, I think I will have a completely new direction from where I was going before.

    • July 21, 2010 7:32 am

      i think that is so smart to take a break to have your little one. life definitely gets more complicated with children. enjoy the time with your baby, they grow so fast!

  4. July 20, 2010 11:21 am

    I think it’s good that you recognized that you needed a break. Everyone does, and it’s so healthy! Especially when we’re trying to set up and maintain a business – I know you and I have talked about balancing it all before. If you don’t set limits for yourself, you burn out and that’s not fun.

  5. July 20, 2010 5:08 pm

    good for you for taking a break. we all need that from time to time. clearing the physical clutter totally helps with clearing the mental clutter. can’t wait to see your painting from your bedroom.

Leave a Reply

