Skip to content

confessions of a paint from home mom

July 14, 2010

mixed media painting

last week i put out a challenge for you to share with me some of your confessions as a creative business owner. the inspiration for this post is a guest post i wrote over here for scoutie girl. i received some great emails, keep them coming!

so here are some of your confessions:

Jennifer

Our sinks are in a constant state of paint splatteredness, anyone visiting and using a sink will know what colors I have been painting with. Along with this there are always paint brushes sitting around the sinks.

Most of my clothes have paint on them. Which I am actually surprised that it doesn’t wash out easier. I use acrylic paint… so I just assumed the paint would wash out… wrong!

There is no such thing as a ‘lunch time’ or ‘dinner time’ in this house. Good thing it is just my husband and me so far. If we have children I may have to stop what I am doing to feed them! 😉

Our house often smells like varnish/laquer. After I seal a piece… it just seems to linger forever.

Lisa

I’ve put my kids in front of the t.v. before so I could paint and blog…and ended up losing track of time and letting them watch nearly 4 30-minute shows.  They were pretty zombified by the end.

I’ve been known to make whatever-we-have dinners – that include a balanced meal of leftover mac n cheese, the rest of the bag of carrots, the crumbled crackers that are still somehow in the sleeve (and a few from the bottom of the box), some green beans dumped from the can onto the stove and heated until they are apparently so hot that they can’t be eaten even when they get cold (yeah.), and chocolate milk to appease the sugar monster. Somehow, the dog usually ends up getting about half of it.

I’ve done that more than once.

I have subjected other individuals to my childrens’ screaming in Target because I’m too intent on getting my shopping done and too tired of fighting them and too much into being a mommy to really care if the childless woman next to me understands what I’m doing.

I’ve done that more than once too.

I could keep going, but right now I’m neglecting my kids that they tease the dog and I have a feeling all of that pounding from the upstairs means either the floor is falling through or… well, I don’t want to think about the alternative.

thanks so much jennifer and lisa! i would like to keep doing posts like these ones, so keep sending me your confessions.



5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 3:09 pm

    Yay for airing dirty laundry – hah! Honestly, thank you so much for sharing this…and thanks to Jennifer for stepping up to the Truth Plate, too. I love that her home is filled with paint-stained everything…a definite sign of a life well-lived. 🙂

  2. July 15, 2010 8:53 am

    This was so fun!! Thanks Lisa for sharing your secrets too! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. mission accomplished « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

