Skip to content

for the love of color

May 14, 2010

when i was a little girl, my mom was always creating. she was either painting or sewing something. in fact, many nights i would fall asleep to the sound of the sewing machine humming happily. one day, my mother took my sister and i to the local fabric store, a place we would frequent often. i remember looking up and seeing all the beautiful colors of thread. i was in complete awe. so, i did what any natural little girl would do, want to make them all mine. i picked up two or three of my favorite colors and slid them into my pocket. my mother was obviously too busy to notice at the moment. she did find them later and made me return them to the store. but even at a young age, color was irresistible to me. so in honor of this day, i thought i would share some thread etsy finds. enjoy!

thread

vintage spool threads

vintage spools

vintage spools

vintage thread

vintage thread

vintage thread

threads

thread

vintage thread series

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 8:22 am

    Hehehe, what a cute little shoplifter you must have made! Don’t feel bad – as a kid, I kept setting off the alarms in museums because I got too close to the artwork.

  2. May 14, 2010 10:09 am

    Those are gorgeous photographs. When I worked in ad design at my previous job, every now and then I would receive a fabric or sewing shop ad to create. For some reason, I always found myself gravitating toward thread spools. I can’t think of any object that symbolizes the sewing craft better than that.

  3. May 14, 2010 10:19 am

    I shoplifted a piece or 2 of that penny gum they used to have at gas stations. I felt bad, but I was pretty little.

Leave a Reply

