Skip to content

bird obsession

May 4, 2010
mixed media collage painting

love birds banner

confession: so i kind of have a thing for birds! i know, i know… i am only stating the obvious, right? birds are a recurring theme in many of my paintings. i keep returning to them over and over. birds are vulnerable and beautiful. they remind me to trust. they remind me to let go. they remind me to hope. and maybe most importantly, birds remind me that i can fly… no, soar in spite of my circumstances. i think that sometimes as an artist, we fixate on themes that are most crucial to our lives. it is like i am preaching these same messages to my heart over and over… wendy, be vulnerable. unveil your beauty for all to see. trust. hope. let go. fly. soar. maybe i need to hear it again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 11:44 am

    There’s something really lovely about a bird in flight, isn’t there?

  2. May 6, 2010 7:26 am

    Your words really hit me…”i think that sometimes as an artist, we fixate on themes that are most crucial to our lives. it is like i am preaching these same messages to my heart over and over… wendy, be vulnerable. unveil your beauty for all to see. trust. hope. let go. fly. soar. maybe i need to hear it again.” I love how you’ve worded this and it’s something I never really thought of. Words so true and something we all need to hear. Thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

