Skip to content

breathe

April 30, 2010

i am learning very quickly that building a business online can be difficult. if i am not careful, i spend way too much time online and not enough time actually accomplishing anything. after spending too much time browsing and researching and who knows what else, i find that my brain is actually disjointed. i don’t really know where to start or what to do. i would not recommend this for someone who creates. so what is the remedy? i am going to attempt to keep to my routine online and spend more time creating. i have a lot to get done in the next month. i am working on my collection. i am trying to finish my altered book so i can start teaching classes this summer.

altered book

altered book page

the word that keeps going through my head is breathe. stop getting distracted and breathe. let go of all the things that are distracting me. stop going and doing and just take the time to reflect. i find that if i can do this, the quality of work that i put out is so much more purposeful. if i am willing to do this, my art will have more impact on other people. it can be so easy to just turn out work that is not inspired or deliberate. not my goal. so this week, i vow to stop and breathe more. i want to enjoy more of the small moments and let my creativity take flight. already i am feeling so much lighter!

here is how i am learning to breathe today:

tulip picture

tulips from my honey

i am enjoying these beautiful tulips my husband bought me after the crazy ordeal of this weekend. i love my husband and how much he takes care of me. it was one of the first things i was attracted to about him. i felt safe whenever i was with him. i am so lucky!

altered book

altered book page

i am working on this altered book for teaching my class. it is very therapeutic!

fabric flowers

flowers from collage

i just figured out how to make a flower from fabric i made with collage. i am kind of excited about this. what do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 10:29 am

    I can’t see the photos! I’ll have to stop by later.

    As for online distractions, you’re not alone. The key is to find some balance between online promotion, offline creation, and personal time, but I have confidence you’ll find it!

    • Elide permalink
      May 3, 2010 8:05 pm

      Hi Wendy,

      I have also found starting an online business to be a bit disorienting with all the different aspects that need to be attended. What has made this easier for me is maintaining my calendar (I use ical), every morning I make a list of what I want to get done. At the end of the day I put all of these completed tasks into my calendar, I record everything that I did that day related to my business- phone calls, packages received, ect. Writing things out in a journal has also worked in this process for me too. What needs to get done this month? What decisions need to be made before I can move onto the next step? If I didn’t write these things down, I would forget them. It’s also been my experience that when I respect my creative time, and try not to multi-task, I am rewarded with good ideas that come from an authentic place.

      • May 3, 2010 8:12 pm

        thanks elide! i know i need to get some sort of system set up then stick to it. you have some great suggestions, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

