Skip to content

falling in love

April 19, 2010

yay, it is monday, and that means 52 weeks post! this is week 6 and the prompt is to write about falling in love with a technique.

multi-media collage painting

my first collage painting

i guess i have always been artistic. i remember drawing for hours on end when i was a little girl. my mom always had us (my sister and i) in art classes. when i was in high school, i took a drawing class at hobby lobby. during this time i learned how to copy pictures with pencil. i was really good too. then for the next decade, i did nothing with my artistic talents.

it wasn’t until i wanted art for my home that i started painting. i started with simple acrylic paintings, mostly simple shapes. but painting for me was just a means to an end. all i cared about was decorating my home. i was not into the process of making these paintings. in all honesty, making these paintings was boring. it was the same way i felt when doing pencil. nothing really sparked my interest. it wasn’t enjoyable. i knew i was good, but nothing spoke to me and inspired me to create.

then my mom gave me the book taking flight, by kelly rae roberts. in it, kelly rae shares techniques for collage painting. so i went out and bought myself all the needed supplies and started creating. it was so much fun! i loved the messiness of collage. i felt so free. the painting didn’t have to be perfect. the bigger the mess i made, the more amazing the painting looked. i actually enjoyed the process of painting for the first time ever. i was in love with the process. everyone who saw my paintings, loved them. it was then that i knew that this was the beginning of something awesome. my heart came to life and i started loving every minute of creating. any spare time i had, i would be off painting. i was inspired everywhere i looked. and it was really a healing process for me. it allowed me to express a part of my heart that i didn’t even know was possible.

fast forward to now… and i still love this technique. as a stay at home mom, collage really fits my lifestyle. i can leave my painting and come back to it. i usually paint in little spurts, ten minutes at a time. i will do the background, let it dry, come back a few hours later and keep going. i also love collage because i get to play with pattern. i am in love with pattern and enjoy all the ways i get to use it in my paintings.

what is your favorite technique?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 8:16 am

    Beautiful! I love the colors and the focus.

  2. Jennifer permalink
    April 19, 2010 2:14 pm

    Kelly’s book also blew me away and introduced me to a world of art that fit my lifestyle and scattered and quirky, anything goes personality. Her book has changed my entire perspective on what being an artist means. Im so glad someone else feels the same way!!!

  3. Blythe permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:31 pm

    Wendy, I love your work and your technique. I love collage, and I love the styles and colors you use. But I really love the ideas behind your work and the meanings they have. My friend that I bought that one print for absolutely LOVED it–your painting expressed exactly what she needed to hear to encourage her, and that’s more beautiful to me than the painting itself!

    I also love doing collages. I am nowhere near your ability, but I might check that book out and get some ideas. Thanks, as always, for sharing! 🙂

  4. Heather Tiger permalink
    May 2, 2010 11:02 am

    Wendy~ I’m so glad I came across your blog! You are exceptionally talented and unique. I’m trying to find my exact creative expression, and combining my poetry, photography, and collage is something I have toyed with. I cannot draw well in the technical sense, so that has always held me back, but your blog has given some new encouragement. Thanks for sharing your art. I look forward to seeing more!
    Heather

  5. May 5, 2010 6:58 am

    Enjoyed looking through your blog. Love seeing the art unfolding in your life and the meaning behind it. Excited to see what continues to pour out of you!

Leave a Reply

