Skip to content

question for you

April 12, 2010

growing up, i remember that my mother was always creating. she was either making dresses for us, or clothes for our dolls… i even remember her making teddy bears for us. i would often fall asleep to the sound of the sewing machine in the next room. i guess it was just normal practice in our household, this business of creating. when i needed to raise money to go on a high school missions trip, i made these cute bunnies (for easter) and sold them to all of my friends and family. i wish i had a picture of those bunnies to show you. i guess when i want something, i always think, can i make it myself? and if the answer is yes, then i figure out how to make it.

my biggest undertaking so far has been an ottoman. yes, you heard that right… i made an ottoman. not just any ottoman, a huge ottoman. i refinish furniture when it isn’t what i want it to be. i paint things i find at the thrift store. i am always looking for ways to either make or reuse something that i already own. i do this mostly out of necessity, but also because it is so much fun. there is nothing like the feeling you get when you create something beautiful. i just love to tell people, yeah, i made that!

ottoman i made

so when i wanted a bibb necklace for the wedding i am going to be in this month, i decided to make it myself. i taught myself how to make these flowers and figured out how to assemble it. i went to my mother’s house yesterday and pilfered her stash of fabrics. she has lots of scraps leftover from a dress maker. i took all of my grandma’s vintage necklaces. then i set out creating. i hardly had to purchase anything to make this necklace. this is how it turned out… so what do you think?

going back to my mother… she really is a woman of many talents. she paints, she sews, she quilts, she makes jewelry, she mattes and frames all her own pictures. she always has more than one hobby going at the same time. i guess i must take after her, because i am ready to start another hobby/ business of making these necklaces. well, at least i am seriously thinking about it.

so for week number five of 52 weeks of blogging your passion, i am supposed to ask a question. so my question for you is would you buy one of these necklaces? what do you think about me opening up a second etsy shop? what colors would you interested in?

yikes, i feel like i must be crazy to even be thinking about this. i really want to know what you all think!

oh, i just thought i would add that it is totally not my heart to just copy someone’s else’s work then sell it on etsy. if i opened up shop, i would be coming up with my own designs and everything. this was my first prototype.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 8:02 am

    wendy- the necklace is beautiful! it so closely resembles the original i can hardly believe it. i love the creativity that flows from your hands. and i think this type of jewelry totally has potential if you want to open another etsy shop! it would also be great to see a picture of it on you. 🙂 keep creating! -beth

  2. April 12, 2010 8:42 am

    Seriously…I LOOVE this idea. I was discouraged about how much I loved so many different media for expressing my creativity, too…until…I got this handy dandy little sidekick book called “Art: A World History”. As I flipped through the pages filled with the artwork of all the greats, I realized that some of my favorite and most admired artists not only had one medium, but often they had several. It was not unheard of for them to even switch medium, style, or theme COMPLETELY during their lifetimes. I don’t think that bottlenecking yourself into one medium/style entirely is always the right answer…even though it is very popular to “brand yourself” right now. I’d say…explore all avenues and just let your creativity be what it is! I love the idea of opening up a second shop! Go for it!

  3. April 12, 2010 9:10 am

    thanks beth and susie! so nice to know that i have some great cheerleaders. susie, i agree, i don’t think you have to be stuck in one medium your whole life either. i think it is partly what keeps you from burning out as an artist. i am not sure if it will receive as much attention as my other shop, but i just thought it would be kind of fun to do on the side. as a business woman, i understand that there is not as much room for profit in making these necklaces. if i spend the same amount of time on one painting, i can sell many copies of the same painting. but sometimes you just have to follow where creativity leads you.

  4. deb permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:16 am

    Wendy, you’re a woman with many talents…use them. Yes, the idea of opening another Etsy shop is right up your alley. Often when I peruse the shops, I find unique items that people have created–this falls into that category.

    My mom was/is always a creator of things too, which is why I am who I am. Aren’t moms great? We emulate much of what they have done by watching.

    Go for it!

  5. shannyrie permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:24 pm

    I think it is awesome Wendy! And I think you would do a great job! So I say go for it – if you have the passion for it, then it won’t be a drain on your energy, rather it will energize you. Can’t wait to see you next week!!!

  6. April 13, 2010 5:10 pm

    Why ask “why?”, ask “why not?”.

    I have lots of mediums I work in, so I say do it! Feeding one helps me feed another, so… why not? 😀

  7. Kristi permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:59 am

    Hey Sis – Very cool! I have some more of Grandma’s old costume jewelry that you are welcome to use for your designs too. – K

Leave a Reply

