Skip to content

telling your story

April 2, 2010

tara, over at scoutie girl, has me thinking about my story lately. she is starting an e-course in may called between the lines, telling the story of you. i am so excited and honored to be able to be a part of this e-course. i am always looking for new ways to grow and learn. tara has already taught me so much, and i can’t wait to glean more from her.

so i have been wondering, can you change your story? you see, i am tired of telling the same story. i am ready for a new story. my old story reads something like this: hit and run car accident 6 year ago, victim, post traumatic stress disorder, depression, closed head injury, lost trial against car insurance company one year ago, health problems, financial problems… i actually could go on and on. but you know what? i am making a decision that is not my story. i can’t stay in that story anymore. i can’t live there. so my new story will read something like this: wife married to an amazing man, mother to two beautiful daughters, thriving artist who inspires others, amazing business woman, blessed to be a blessing, not afraid to hope or dream, survivor who inspires others to tell their story, beautiful daughter of god who accepts the grace to move on.

you see, it is not that i can ever change the difficult things that i have gone through. it will always be there and it has made me who i am today. but i can make it a victory instead of a defeat. it doesn’t have to be the driving force of my life. my story can be, wow, look where i was then, but look where i am now thanks to god. i want my story to be about redemption, grace, life, beauty, inspiration and justice. i want to be able to look back and say, yeah, i was dealt a rough hand but i was able to overcome those things. i did not let it define me. i let god define me.

what do you want your story to be?

multi-media collage painting

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 12:58 pm

    Just tried to register for Tara’s class, and I think I missed it! Bummer – will you tell me how you like it?

    And I’m all about focusing on the positive, so I fully support your new story. I know what the woman I want to be is, but I’m not quite there yet; that story is still evolving. Once I get there, it’ll be a good story to look back on, methinks.

  2. blythe permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:06 pm

    Wendy, I love this post! It’s full of redemption and is perfect for Easter. I think God has given you so much grace to see your story from his perspective! To God, you have a perfect and beautiful story, with every detail orchestrated by him for his glory, even when we don’t understand. It’s a love story of him pursuing you, and we are blessed to witness how he has loved you. ❤

  3. April 2, 2010 1:48 pm

    oh brandi… i am so bummed that you won’t be taking it with me! i was really hoping we would be in it together. you should ask tara just to be sure. and i can’t wait to hear more of your story to develop.

    blythe, i so appreciate your comment. it is so difficult to see past the hard things that we go through. i am sure you know more than most people what it is to change your story!

  4. April 5, 2010 9:12 am

    Way to take control! You are right – we CAN write our own stories, thank so much for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

