Skip to content

cherry blossoms revised

March 26, 2010
multi-media collage cherry blossom painting

cherry blossoms

so there are days that i just sit and stare at a painting. something bugs me about it and i just can’t put my finger on it. too simple? too much? i know it needs something else, but what? arg! i wish this process was easier, but then i guess the painting wouldn’t be so fabulous in the end. or maybe i am just struggling to find my voice, my expression. i start to doubt. what if the things i am creating are not really amazing after all? or maybe my struggle just comes after creating a piece that i truly love. i get mad with the next few because they are just not as amazing. but somehow it is what keeps me going, because what if another amazing painting is just right around the corner. it is just sitting there waiting for me to find it. and i guess they can’t all be my favorite. but it is part of the journey. i have to accept it and keep moving. i have to struggle, because otherwise what would the creative journey be? what would i learn about myself? probably not very much!

so i changed this painting because, well… i just couldn’t leave well enough alone. i am not sure if i like it better or less. i like it both ways. but this was my struggle today. what is your creative wrestling?

multi-media collage cherry blossom painting

cherry blossoms revised

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 11:57 am

    My painting professor in college used to start off the semester by saying that you need to make 100 bad paintings to make 1 good one. While a lot of people freaked (100 paintings??), I always loved hearing this, because it immediately took off the pressure of making a masterpiece every single time. It’s okay, it’s part of the process.

    But I like the revised one a little better.

  2. March 29, 2010 8:20 am

    I love this one (too)…May need to have it as well.

    You are so talented, Wendy.

Leave a Reply

