Skip to content

52 weeks of blogging your passion

March 15, 2010

multi-media collage dress painting

i am super excited to announce that i am starting 52 weeks of blogging your passion, an e-book  by tara at scoutie girl! “52 Weeks will give you the tools you need to journal your creative journey, promote your indie biz, and keep your sanity while blogging.” tara gives you a new prompt or focus for you to blog about every week.  i am not sure exactly how i found tara, but she has already taught me so much about blogging and marketing my business online. i highly recommend her e-book for all artists looking to market themselves online!!!

week one- write a mission statement

i know that i started brainstorming this a few weeks ago, but here is a more revised and complete version. this process was not easy by any means. it really makes you think about what you would like to accomplish in your blog and business. it certainly does give me a sense of accomplishment. as an english major, i keep picking it apart wanting it to be perfect. and i think i have revised and rewritten about 7 times. but i think i am finally happy with this version!

a girl and her brush is a blog dedicated to inspiring others to hope, dream, believe and create, as i document my own personal creative journey. on this amazing new journey, i am continually looking for inspiration through color, pattern and texture to create multi-media collage pieces with a playful spirit. i am committed to creating high quality, one of a kind, happy pieces to brighten up your home and life.

there it is! whew! now it is time to give my brain a break and get into my studio to create. what is your mission statement? feel free to blog about it and leave your link in the comments!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 9:35 am

    warm yet subtle colours and shapes.
    nice job

  2. March 15, 2010 9:39 am

    i like it, i look forward to seeing next week!

  3. March 15, 2010 9:41 am

    First – Very nice! Isn’t it great to get those written out? I definitely found mine to be a great writing exercise in and of itself. I’ve been reading 52 Weeks as well. I am coming up on Week 4 and loving every bit of it. I think the blogging bug has bitten me for good!

    Second – I love your collage work. Just. Love. It. I’m quickly becoming hooked (uh oh. I hear my debit card crying).

    • March 15, 2010 9:56 am

      thanks so much for the compliment jen! i absolutely love your blog already and i just went to look at it today. so nice to know other people going through 52 weeks.

  4. March 15, 2010 11:08 am

    I LOVE your mission statement – clear, concise, and perfect!

    • March 15, 2010 11:26 am

      thanks brandi! i kept looking at your mission statement and others to help me figure out what i wanted to say.

      • March 17, 2010 10:58 am

        It always helps to see what others write in something like this, I think. It helps me focus down what I want to say. I must have spent hours on mine, looking and reading and thinking.

  5. March 19, 2010 10:00 pm

    Wendy, I just love your artwork and your blog! Perfect mission statement! I’m still working on my mine…I don’t have a shop, so I feel a little lost. But, I love blogging and I’m sooo happy to meet you! 🙂

    • March 20, 2010 6:45 am

      I don’t think that you need to have a shop to have a great mission statement. Your focus will just be a little different than the rest of us. Do you want to highlight other people? Do you want to have a shop?

Leave a Reply

