Skip to content

thriving artist giveaway!

March 12, 2010

hello everyone… one of my new favorite bloggers marisa at creative thursday put up a post today that really got me thinking. you should check out her post on being a thriving artist. another amazing blogger, tara at scoutie girl, also wrote about being a thriving artist and what it means to believe in yourself as an artist. it was a good reminder that yes, what i create has value.

taking a leap of faith and starting a business selling your artwork is not always easy. in fact, everywhere you go there are limitations. most of these limitations take place right in our own brains. ever heard the phrase “starving artist”? well i’m not buying it! i choose to believe that i am a thriving artist instead.

one of my early mentors in business (Penny Kelly), taught me that there are two mindsets we can have… the lack mentality or the abundance mentality. the lack mentality says that there is not enough to go around and you will never have enough. when you have this mentality, everyone is your competition and not your partner. when you see through the eyes of lack, you are always focused on what you don’t have. many times you stay in that place because you are always focused on what you don’t have. but when you have the abundance mentality, there is always enough blessing to go around. you focus on what you do have with gratitude and your heart is suddenly turned outward. everyone is your partner and you look to build other people up, rather than tear them down.

so i am a thriving artist with an abundance mentality! who are you? are you a thriving business woman? are you a thriving teacher or pastor? tell me who you are.

as a thriving artist, i would like to host my very first giveaway.Β  i will be giving away an 8 x 8 high quality print of one of my first paintings, laundry day. in order to enter, just leave your name in the comments and finish the sentence, i am a thriving… the giveaway will be open through saturday, march 20th and announced on sunday, march 21st.

Laundry Day

don’t forget to tell your friends to enter!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 1:33 pm

    artist! I loved Marisa’s post also. Thanks for the giveaway and I love Laundry Day – a simple chore turned so beautiful.

  2. Pamella Wait permalink
    March 12, 2010 4:06 pm

    I am a thriving woman, wife, daughter, sister, teacher, volunteer, friend and nurse! Many different hats, one awesome woman! (I’m not vain, I sould fit HUMBLE in there somewhere) πŸ˜‰

    And YOU are one AWESOME woman Wendy! I am so proud of you. You truly do inspire me!

  3. Karen Burroughs permalink
    March 12, 2010 4:40 pm

    I am a thriving staff member of CCC.

  4. March 13, 2010 7:25 am

    Artist! Thank you for this post! It was really encouraging and I’m sure it will really help my outlook in starting my business as well:)

  5. March 13, 2010 12:32 pm

    You have a gorgeous blog and wonderful sense of color. I love the laundry day print. I’m glad I found this!

  6. cara permalink
    March 14, 2010 2:23 pm

    I am a thriving musician and student.

  7. Julia permalink
    March 14, 2010 5:15 pm

    I am a thriving magazine editor! (Among other things.)

  8. beth permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:59 am

    i am a thriving creative woman, wife and teacher. i absolutely LOVE being able to teach part-time so that i have more time to spend with my husband and to spend creating things (knitting, cooking and hopefully more painting)!

  9. Carmen permalink
    March 15, 2010 1:15 pm

    I am a thriving mother of 5 amazing children and wife of an adventurous entrepreneur with a heart to live for something greater than himself. I have a thriving mind, heart and dream. I hope to thrive in the world of writing and creativity thru the written word. I thrive because of my relationships with family, friends and my faithful Friend and King who journies with me.

    Wendy…such a great idea! I am so proud of you and your determination to thrive in your own skin…just the way you were created. Your art is incredible…your heart is clearly seen and even felt. Wonderful…beautiful!

  10. Rachel permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:06 pm

    teacher. I never wanted to be a teacher growing up. But as I met different people who confirmed the fact that that was my God-given gift, I accepted it, embraced it, and now thoroughly enjoy it! I would like to say that I am a thriving artist, but I am currently too lazy to act on any creative impulses (that and I am a little busy with a newborn, a two-year-old, being a housewife (which is quite different from being a career woman, believe me!).

  11. Marilyn permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:06 pm

    I am a thriving newly wed ( and am so blessed by my wonderful husband), outdoor adventurer (sky diving, cave diving, 14er hikes, and bike riding…love it all) and travelor! (Europe, New Zealand or throughout America..I long to see it all.) I hope to soon be a thriving grief counselor! ❀ With God on your side you can do anything.

  12. March 15, 2010 9:58 pm

    daughter of God. Sometimes I convince myself that I’m a grown-up, that I can do life on my own, so I wave a cheerful goodbye to my Father and take a couple of steps toward independence. But the world is scary and big and unbearable alone. I always end up running back to my Abba’s lap, back to His steady arms and firm embrace. I will always be His little girl, and that is where I thrive.

  13. March 15, 2010 10:04 pm

    I am loving all of these creative and inspiring answers. Thanks everyone for sharing!

  14. March 16, 2010 10:51 am

    I am a thriving wife, mother and writer. I’m enjoying everything God has blessed me with in this season!

    Great idea Wendy! You are going to bless someone with this fabulous print!!

  15. March 16, 2010 7:34 pm

    I am a thriving {woman} trying to believe with all my heart that I am clothed in Christ’s {strength} & dignity and can laugh with no {fear} of the future! (Proverbs 31:25)

    I love this print and know right where I could put it!

    I love your sister Becky -we shared a lot of tears & laughter & hugs & yummy food together in Colorado Springs!

    Blessings,
    Sara

  16. Erin permalink
    March 16, 2010 8:56 pm

    I am a thriving wife, sister, friend

  17. Penny permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:54 pm

    Wendy, I am SO proud of you! What a difference you are making…with your brush…with your words and their content! EVERYONE needs to read/hear what you wrote, everyone needs to ponder it, everyone needs to own it. By owning your message others will thrive…a person can “try” to own it…or just own it! Each of us were created to thrive. Each of us get to choose. By not choosing we are choosing lack and doubt.

    Look at you thriving artist “girl and her brush”…giving others the tools to thrive. You got it and you are giving it!

    With joy and so much pride in your whole package, what you paint, the message you send and who you are!

  18. rebecca permalink
    March 19, 2010 10:02 am

    I am a thriving wife, mother, and friend . . . only when I place myself in total dependence upon the one and only source of abundant life, (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit). Like so many I often still think I can do it on my own. And while I can possibly muddle through, that is not the purpose He has for me. Freedom and real joy are found in the surrender of my way of thinking, doing, and being.

    Thanks for making me think it through again. I think we need daily reminders of who we are and our purpose as “children of the most Holy God.”

    Wendy, I really can’t wait to see these pieces in person. They look beatiful on the computer. Oh, and if I’m “lucky” enough to win, I know just where I’ll put it.

  19. March 19, 2010 6:28 pm

    I am a thriving wife, mom, quilter, blogger – always amazed at His goodness in my life. He fills in my gaps πŸ™‚

    Your painting is beautiful – I would be honored to win!

  20. March 19, 2010 10:10 pm

    I seriously thought I entered already – talk about space cadet! Thank goodness I saw your tweet!

    I am a thriving… artist, a sister, an auntie, a daughter, a friend, but most of all, I’m a thriving individual.

  21. March 20, 2010 2:25 pm

    T – thriving wife, yorkie mommie, designer
    H – hugger
    R – red-head
    I – individual
    V – venturer
    E – Entrepreneur

  22. March 20, 2010 5:56 pm

    Oh wow…this is beautiful! I love these colors and would so love to hang this print in our new laundry room. So glad to have found your blog. I will definately be back!

  23. misscoyle permalink
    March 22, 2010 8:09 am

    I am a thriving teacher who expands teenagers’ minds to wonder, wander, and wink at the hillarities of life.

    (Maybe I’m too late, but I thought I’d play anyway. πŸ™‚ )

Trackbacks

  1. Just a Big Thank You! « The Secret Life of the Bishop's Wife

Leave a Reply

