Skip to content

new studio

February 24, 2010

so i am not one of those people who has an extra room to dedicate only to art. i wish i was… oh the fun i would have decorating that room. but i did figure out a way to carve out a little corner of my dining room for my art. i used a bakers rack to organize all of my painting supplies and keep them out of the way. i used to have dishes and a wine rack displayed on this baker’s rack. alas, it had to go. i packed up all the dishes (that i never used anyway) and said goodbye to not using my space wisely. then i moved all of my art supplies, that used to be taking over the dining table, to the bakers rack. i made sure that it made sense in how i paint. and i actually like the flow much better than the way i had it before. it was very awkward to get to my easel before. i used the big wall as my gallery of inspiration. this way i can display a whole bunch of paintings as they come and go. and i love, love how much natural light i get in this room. this whole space makes me soooo happy and ready to create. see, you can have both function and beauty in a space. and we can finally sit down and eat dinner together again!

art studio design

art studio design

art studio design

art studio design

art studio design

art studio design

art studio design

8 Comments leave one →
  1. beth permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:10 am

    looks great, wendy! and now your gorgeous table gets to show off too. 🙂

  2. February 24, 2010 9:11 am

    this new painting is calling to me… better go answer.

  3. February 24, 2010 9:11 am

    thanks beth!

  4. February 26, 2010 11:03 pm

    I’m so happy you have a space to create in… I’m drooling as I look at all of that amazing artwork…oh I can’t wait to go crazy at your etsy shop!!

  5. March 19, 2010 9:49 pm

    I love your work, it looks stunning on your wall! Orange Flower Original Artwork is my favorite! Your studio space is beautiful!

    • March 20, 2010 6:42 am

      Thanks so much Eileen! I love the Orange Flower too. I am so happy that I was able to create a space that is beautiful and functional, and make do with the space that I have.

  6. March 23, 2010 11:02 am

    this is a great idea! we’ve got an offer in on a house where this would work out perfectly!

    • March 23, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thanks Dacia! I am so happy your were inspired. It is not always easy to find space to house a studio.

Leave a Reply

