Skip to content

Week 4 Make Art That Sells Wall Art

November 5, 2013

I loved this week of Make Art That Sells. Week 4 was all about the Wall Art market so I felt most in my comfort zone for sure. We had to use a limited color palette which was a little bit hard for me, but good. Especially since I got red and orange and I never use red in my paintings. The assignment was so up my alley because we were asked to do abstract floral. Hello? This is so how I work.

For me, this week was really eye opening and reassuring. I watched as many people in the class really struggled with working in such a loose abstract free way. Then the light bulb went off. This is how I work. It comes naturally to me.  And other people really struggle with it. And I am good at it. Let me tell you, that was such a nice feeling.

Sometimes it is really intimidating in a class full of really talented artists. It’s easy to get caught up looking at what everyone else does and play the comparison game. So I decided to put my blinders back on and focus on me and my art. Stop looking at everyone else. Think about what I love to do. Do art for me. Not anyone else. Because when you do it just for you, it contains your joy and people stop and take notice.

Every week Lilla chooses some pieces to review and teach the class about specific concepts. This week was the first week she chose my piece as one of the many to review. So that was a very nice encouragement. But it was the first week that I had stop worrying about getting chosen. Funny how that works. Who knows? Maybe it’s because I am getting my flow back.

Here is my piece.

Serendipity Happens

Serendipity Happens

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassandra permalink
    November 5, 2013 11:07 am

    Love this post and your piece of art. This piece is what I needed to read as it spoke right to me. Thank you for sharing. :)

    Have a beautiful day!

  2. November 5, 2013 1:48 pm

    Great post Wendy. I really loved this piece. It really was a stand out piece amidst some great are this week. Great job.

  3. November 5, 2013 4:34 pm

    wonderful post and love the artwork that came from the lesson. It rocks!!!!!

  4. November 6, 2013 8:05 am

    Love, love love this piece! Your art is really wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

