Skip to content

Flow

October 29, 2013
flow

flow

I have been pondering this concept of flow lately… Mostly because I have felt stuck for a while now, not knowing how to get unstuck. Stuckness is not fun. The times in my life that I have felt the most fulfilled were when I stepped into this invisible flow of grace and giving and blessing.

I started thinking about flow after reading this article by Teesha Moore about living a magical life. There are several areas in my life where I have just been feeling stuck… my business, community, having fun (I know that sounds silly). ┬áMy studio is such an organizational mess right now, at least up until this week. I would walk in and want to turn right around and walk back out.

I have been struggling to find community lately. A creative community. Ever since I haven’t been teaching, I have been longing to connect with others on a creative level.

Even in my business I have noticed a huge lack of flow. I feel stuck in putting myself out there. So instead of just putting myself out there, I just sit kind of frozen not knowing exactly where to start. Taking Lilla’s class has been helping with that a ton.

So in this place of stuckness I have been complaining to my husband about the clutter in our house and not having enough time or sleep or time with friends or fun or anything. He told me I don’t even know what I want.

But I am realizing that the missing piece is flow. Everything seems so hard because there is no flow in my life rightnow. Stagnation is so not good for creativity. If a body of water has no outlet, it will become dead, killing everything that lives within it. That is why the Dead Sea is called the Dead Sea. Nothing can live in a place of stagnation.

We need flow.

I started cleaning out my studio. And guess what, I am letting go of some older pieces of artwork and passing them onto women who really need some life and hope. Flow. Letting go of the old to make room for the new. How can I ever expect to flow into all the new if I am still holding onto all this old work? I am even ready to go through my supplies and get rid of some of this clutter. It’s time.

Community is not happening because there is no flow and I am making it too hard. Who wants to come paint with me? Invite them over and go with the flow. Where is the movement happening? Instead of focusing on the people who don’t have time to spend with me, I need to focus on the people who do. So I invited a new friend over to come paint with me this week. Can I just tell you how excited I am about this? Someone who is excited to learn and paint with me. I can’t wait.

Even the areas of my house that are just irking me, it’s because there is no flow.

Having fun is not happening either because I feel so stuck. Again, I need to go where the fun is flowing.

My friend Laura used to own a little boutique where I sold my artwork. She would often tell me that if she moved the merchandise around, or my paintings, all of the sudden people would be interested in them. It was something that couldn’t really be explained logically, but it makes sense. It was all about flow.

I love the painting at the beginning of this post. It reminds me of water and flowing. Who knew that I was painting the very thing that I needed the most?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila permalink
    October 29, 2013 6:49 pm

    I totally understand! I am TOTALLY right where you are. I started giving “just because” and started sorting my studio. Still stagnated but crawling out of the muck! GO girl!

  2. Emie permalink
    October 31, 2013 5:16 am

    Do I sense you’ve picked your word for the year 2014??? I totally understand where you’re coming from with FLOW… we forget to see things that become stagnant…. if we mix it up we’re able to see old things as new again. BRAVO!!!

  3. ann dickey permalink
    November 1, 2013 6:28 am

    you have been on my mind lately. i love what you are doing in your make art that sells class. it is fresh, lovely, and spunky. i remember when my kids were young like yours- i would often get into a great groove and then life would side tract me. so i would stop plodding ahead because i would get frustrated!! it gets easier!!!!

  4. November 2, 2013 9:07 am

    Sorry you’re feeling stuck, but I’m grateful you’re able to clearly express how you’re feeling, because this post has really resonated with me. I’ve been feeling stuck in my own life lately, and you’re right – it’s because there’s no flow. I think I’ll start with some steps like you have, rearranging and clearing up clutter. Thank you for the inspiration.

  5. November 3, 2013 9:42 pm

    Your post was inspiring. We all get stuck from time to time. I love hearing the real stories of the struggles along with the tenacity to see it thru. I’m anxiuosly waiting to see what happens on the other side for you. I feel it will be wonderful. Your artwork at the beginning of th epost was really, really good. Kepp moving forward.

Trackbacks

  1. Week 4 Make Art That Sells Wall Art | a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

