Skip to content

Week 3 Make Art That Sells… EEEK!!! Children’s Book Illustration

October 27, 2013

I know I have literally disappeared people. But this class is kicking my butt. I have taken numerous e-courses, but none compare to this one. Besides receiving a grade, this class is exactly like taking a college level course. Seriously! I have never been more invested in an e-course. I suppose it’s because most of the time I am spending on the class is doing art, which is brilliant really. Lilla deserves kuddos for the way she designed it. The best way to describe it is Artist Boot Camp. I am easily putting in 30 hours a week on this class. Late nights. Early mornings. Loads of coffee.

If you are thinking at all about taking Make Art That Sells, do it! It is a huge investment of your time and your money. But you would easily pay the same amount for a college level course. Plus the art, community, knowledge and experience that comes out of it is so worth it!!! It’s amazing what you will do when you are totally invested in something.

This week was the most difficult for me so far!!! The thought of illustrating a children’s book forces me to have a little panic attack, or two. This week was not pretty people. There were tears involved. I am pretty sure my husband thought I was crazy. I am not sure what it is about illustration that scares me so severely. But it does! I don’t really think of myself as a character artist, so this was a huge stretch.

Here is my final submission piece… I ended up creating way too much to go on the cover. So I am including a second piece that would most likely go on another page. Don’t tell, but it might just be my favorite part. It was really interesting thinking about making art as it relates to a story. I did things I normally wouldn’t have done. Which I think is fabulous!!!

The Language of the Birds

The Language of the Birds

The little piece that I had to cut out because it just detracted from my bird. That was one of the hardest parts of this project. Editing. Boy was that tough!!!! I really love it.

Ship on the Sea...

Ship on the Sea…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila Earhart permalink
    October 27, 2013 11:14 pm

    Awesome! You’ve got it girl! You’re very talented!

    Sheila

  2. October 28, 2013 7:03 am

    I love how you have utilized your gifts in creating pattern and texture and brilliant color usage to tell a story!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

